Multi-Gaming Community
It is currently 28 Mar 2024, 11:50

All times are UTC+01:00

gb 
 Post subject: Independence
PostPosted: 18 Sep 2014, 18:14 
Has no REAL life! (3493)
This isn't a rant or anything, it's just that some people have asked me in mumble/steam about the whole Scottish independence thing and what I think about it - I'm not good at answering that kind of thing off the top of my head so I'm gonna write it out here. Hopefully it'll interest some of you :5:

Here's the background. In Britain there are traditionally three main parties: Labour on the left, Conservatives (a.k.a the Tories) on the right and the Liberal Democrats (Lib Dems) somewhere in the middle. Let's rewind to the 80s, when Margaret Thatcher of the Conservatives was Prime Minister. In what I'll admit is an oversimplified version of events, the Tories introduced the ill-advised poll tax - a tax toward which everyone paid the same amount of money, making it unfair to the working class - and decided to give it a trial run in Scotland before rolling out across the UK. Scotland, which has almost always been more left-leaning than England, wanted Thatcher's head on a plate for this. Tory support has never been the same since. In fact, right now there is only one elected Tory candidate across the whole of Scotland, despite them being in power in the UK.

Fast forward to more recent times and Labour continued to receive more or less popular support in Scotland, with the Lib Dems getting elected in the far north, Highlands/Islands areas. But then the big economic crash happened, the entire world (more or less) went into recession and shit hit the fan. As Labour were in power at the time they got the blame, which personally I think is a bit unfair given that this was an unprecedented, worldwide event, but there y'go. The result is that Scottish people aren't voting Labour and they aren't voting Tory either.