Multi-Gaming Community
It is currently 27 Apr 2024, 16:15

All times are UTC+02:00

gb 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2010, 12:57 
Clan leaders (1417)
After sticking with nVidia since I had my last ATI (an X800XT plat, which incidentaly died), I've avoided ATI like the plague. I work as a tech in a PC shop and have seen more ATI cards fail on a regular basis than I've seen crappy rainy weather, and I live in the west cost of Scotland...

After having been away from my PC for a couple months I returned to it to find my PSU had blown and taken my precious PNY GeForce 285 with it. I was obviously gutted and after 2 months of withdrawl symptoms I took the only option I had that would get my PC up and running without a 2 week delay (waiting for Return/RMA to the distributor). So I put balls to the wind and got myself an ATI 5870, reading good reviews for it and going in contrast to my gut feeling that all ATI cards are unreliable pieces of crap.

3D performance, pretty good, but can't say that it's much better than the 285, considering how much newer it is. However..... 2D performance? F**ked. The RAMDAC is typically for ATI (in my experience), faulty as a faulty thing. So, I'm back to having to do a SECOND F**KING RETURN, all because I didn't use my own experience and instinct.

Moral of the story? Like I've been saying for years. ATI suck at making reliable GFX hardware.

So, honestly, how many of you have had ATI cards that failed or had a fault develop over the last few years?

nl 
PostPosted: 21 Mar 2010, 13:08 
Community slut (13473)
[SpA]th3-mute wrote:
After sticking with nVidia since I had my last ATI (an X800XT plat, which incidentaly died), I've avoided ATI like the plague. I work as a tech in a PC shop and have seen more ATI cards fail on a regular basis than I've seen crappy rainy weather, and I live in the west cost of Scotland...